With the advent of the 2018 Farm Bill hemp regulations across the country have been in constant flux on a state level and Georgia is no exception. The state has had its fair share of change and even resistance to allowing for hemp farming altogether. But now, in 2020 things have begun to level off and Georgia is laying in some long term regulations and hemp policies. Of course, one area of interest for any state when it comes to hemp, CBD, and Cannabis alike is always–fees.
Now that most of the regulations for hemp in Georgia are new fees are being implemented too. Hemp processors have been hit pretty hard in regards to fees need to pay a $25,000 permit fee to the state Department of Agriculture their first year in operation and a whopping $50,000 each subsequent year. For a reference, the fees last year were $10,000–meaning a 400% increase took place from 2019 to 2020. This massive increase legislation was signed into law by Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp on July 22.
There have been other changes made on top of the fee increases. Some of them could increase paperwork and make it more difficult for those entering or already in the hemp industry. For instance, transporting hemp now requires additional paperwork. The aim of this is purported to be an effort to clear up confusion during traffic stops–allowing an officer to distinguish between hemp and marijuana-which can be done without testing. Additionally, background checks and fingerprinting will be required of owners and executives in the hemp industry–which aligns with what most states across the US already do.